The seas at my doorstep

Bone-weary but contented, when you return
you bring the vast seas to my doorstep
roaring capriciously and then tranquil, by turns
The tempestuous tides are forever interwoven
moving rhythmically with your heartbeats
responding automatically to the pull and push of the moody moon
The coarseness of the sand I feel on your palms
tingles my senses with gentle abrasion
The unfathomable depth of the oceans
reflects in your eyes
hiding subtly the underlying passion
I taste the sweetness of the brackish seas on your lips
a taste defying any definition
The sea and the moon are forever bound
sometimes close, at others afar
leaving my landlocked home awash with sea spray always.

56 thoughts on “The seas at my doorstep

  1. Goodness Punam, how beautifully you describe the sea being bought to your home by the return of your loved one. A big sigh from me over here. I felt that sandy salty air upon reading your poem

    “leaving my landlocked home awash with sea spray always.”

    Beautiful ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Busier than a bee!!! I can somehow imagine this, you, flitting place to place, delivering honey as you go, pollinating flowers. That’s gorgeous and sounds delightful ❤️❤️❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Wow Wow Wow, Punam…I felt the wave rush over me and pull me under! My fave pick will be your final line…so Exquisite ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is amazing. At this moment in time, it’s my favourite I’ve read from you.

    This is engraved in my mind:

    “…The sea and the moon are forever bound…”

    Sigh. Gorgeous.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.