Illusion

The bed is unmade, has been unmade for weeks

though I do change the sheets, I like the look of disarray

it makes the room look lived in

I also like leaving empty coffee cups on the side table

when I come back from work

I can feel the presence of the other self

my soul floats back and forth

between me and the other self I oft see in the mirror

we do have conversations too,

I mean a girl has to talk!

I am glad I have company

for I am tired of answering

probing questions about this and that

how I manage alone and all that blah

then, when she peers at me from the mirror

I breathe easy and we giggle together

for loneliness has no room in this room for two.

34 thoughts on “Illusion

  1. ‘I mean a girl has to talk!’ 😀
    well even if not a girl, this is relatable, especially when the existentially awakened and probed Monday me goes back to find the remnants of the weekend me, but then I look around to realize it’s a room inhabited by more than two.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, boys too need to talk…a lot more! 😀
      It is certainly inhabited with more than two at times. I ignore the rest as dealing with one is good for sanity but dealing with all of them is insane! 😅

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You have to ‘deal’ because you have to ‘talk’. All of them in my case are silent, creepy ones, at most we nod and acknowledge each other 😛

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol Ivor! I would rather have you sitting across and talking to us. Thank you so much, my friend.
      Did you get the news…typgress.com has been taken down. It no longer exists!!! 🙌🏼

      Like

      1. WOW, no I didn’t here the news !!! that’s truly great…. Maybe all of our concerted protests got through to those concerned…..
        Lol… I’m glad my piece of humour in my comment…xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.