Yo-yo diet

Have you ever noticed
When you are on a strict diet
The whole world seems to be conspiring against you.
Laying out a feast,
A riot of colours, aromas and tastes
Alluring you, enticing you
Intoxicating you and driving you crazy
Till all you can do is think about food frenzily
Forcing you to forget your fast
And binge like a glutton.
Ahh! The pure bliss that overcomes you
Quickly to be replaced by shame and guilt
And your life becomes like a seesaw
Following the highs and lows of dieting
Pushing and punishing self
Eating ravenously followed by deprivation
Till one day when all this makes you sick
The self loathing eating your innards
For it has become more about looks and less about health
That is when you decide to chuck it all
To accept and love your body
As it is.

22 thoughts on “Yo-yo diet

  1. If I may be so bold… most think of dieting as punishment and deprivation, which of course sets us up to fail. Instead of that mindset, how about thinking of a new start where we nurture ourselves with bright, beautiful, nutritious foods our of love and caring for our bodies? Just a thought! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know ya …diet n all hota rehta hai self acceptance is most important. If I love me …the world would love me😜 but if they don’t ….who cares …….I have myself to love me…. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. There always seems to be a conflict between “I want” and “I shouldn’t”… moderation in all things and don’t beat yourself up if you have that ice cream!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.