Restart

href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/restart/”>Restart</a&gt;

Lately I have had too much time on hand

Keep going over the time spent with you

And somehow can’t get over the fact

Have hurt you so much knowingly 

As well as unknowingly.

In my arrogance then

Thought you needed to be taught a lesson

For not living by my rulebook.

You never complained

Never uttered a word

But that wounded look in your eyes

Haunts me now day and night.

I stay awake willing away your eyes

But your silent tear-filled gaze

Seems to question me all the time.

I know my behaviour cannot be forgiven

But I have to ask you one last time,

“Can we press rewind and restart, please?”

One thought on “Restart

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.