Stop (NaPoWriMo)

Stop!

stop the din in my head

stop the clamouring

the constant hammering

can’t you come one by one

why do so many of you come all at once

you hound me in my sleep too

I often wake up with a start

sweating and clammy

stop please

specially the dark ones

depressing me beyond words

you cloud my clarity

and blanket all light

pushing me in a limbo

give me some peace

a few moments of blankness

where I could immerse in nothingness

just nothing

and come out clean

remove your tentacles

suffocating me no end

they choke all the happy ones

driving them far away

from where they never return

I am left shivering

even at high noon

my spine turning into an icicle

ready to snap anytime

Go away

Please go away

let me cleanse my body and soul

in the heat of the moonlight

and air all crevices and nooks

remove all cobwebs

maybe happy thoughts will then

decide to reside.

Today’s challenge is to write a poem that starts with a command. It could be as uncomplicated as “Look,” as plaintive as “Come back,” or as silly as “Don’t you even think about putting that hot sauce in your hair.” Whatever command you choose, I hope you have fun ordering your readers around.

55 thoughts on “Stop (NaPoWriMo)

  1. ha you describe that mischievous monkey mind so well, we all know it!

    The beauty of meditation allows one to stop it at will … after years of intense practice 😉 but it is definitely possible and blissful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A wonderfully expressed poem on mind, Punam. I could feel the stress of those dark thoughts viscerally, as I could also feel the cleanse of the silence you describe. Both powerful. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.